How Many Games Does NFL Team Play
3 mins read

How Many Games Does NFL Team Play

The National Football League (NFL) is one of the most popular sports leagues in the world, drawing millions of fans to stadiums and television screens every season. Central to the NFL’s appeal is its action-packed schedule, featuring thrilling matchups between some of the best football teams in the world. But just how many games does each NFL team play? In this article, we’ll delve into the structure of the NFL season and answer this fundamental question.

The NFL Regular Season:

The NFL regular season typically spans 17 weeks, with each team playing a total of 16 games. These games are divided into a combination of intra-conference (against teams within the same conference) and inter-conference (against teams from the opposite conference) matchups.

Each NFL team is assigned a schedule that includes:

Six games against divisional opponents: Teams play two games against each of the other three teams in their division. Divisional matchups are highly anticipated and often feature intense rivalries, as teams battle for divisional supremacy and playoff positioning.

Four games against teams from another division within their conference: These matchups rotate each season, allowing teams to face a variety of opponents within their conference. This ensures that teams have a balanced schedule and face different challenges from year to year.

Four games against teams from a division in the opposite conference: Similar to intra-conference matchups, these games rotate each season, providing teams with opportunities to compete against opponents from the other conference. These games also contribute to the overall parity of the league.

Two games against teams from the remaining two divisions in the same conference: These matchups are based on the previous season’s standings, with teams facing opponents who finished in the same position within their respective divisions. This adds an element of competitiveness and unpredictability to the schedule.

Playoffs and Super Bowl:

At the conclusion of the regular season, the top teams from each conference advance to the playoffs, where they compete in a single-elimination tournament to determine the conference champions. The winners of the AFC and NFC championships then face off in the Super Bowl, the NFL’s marquee event and the culmination of the season.

The playoffs consist of three rounds:

Wild Card Round: The top seven teams from each conference qualify for the playoffs, with the top seed in each conference receiving a bye week. The remaining six teams in each conference compete in the wild card round, with the winners advancing to the divisional round.

Divisional Round: The winners of the wild card round join the top-seeded teams in each conference to compete in the divisional round. The winners of these games advance to the conference championship games.

Conference Championship Games: The winners of the divisional round games face off in the AFC and NFC championship games, with the winners earning a spot in the Super Bowl.


In summary, each NFL team plays a total of 16 games during the regular season, consisting of matchups against divisional opponents, teams from within their conference, and teams from the opposite conference. The NFL schedule is designed to provide a balance of competition and excitement while ensuring that every team has an equal opportunity to compete for a playoff spot and ultimately, a shot at the Super Bowl.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *